Coco In Korea

I Teach. I Live. I Travel

  • Categories

  • Find us on HiExpat!

  • Find us on TBXE

  • CIK on Facebook

  • CIK on Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Brothas&Sistas of SK

Daejeon & Busan

Posted by cocoinkorea on August 3, 2010

I have been slacking off on the posting because I have been SOOO busy with summer camp and I haven’t been home on the weekends because I have been traveling. The past two weekends I went to Daejeon and Busan, respectively.

~WEEKEND IN DAEJEON~




I decided to spend my 24th birthday weekend in Daejeon (대전), which is located thirty minutes southwest of Cheongju. I heard of this great restaurant called Ali Baba’s Treasure by doing an internet search for restaurants in Daejeon. I ordered lamb, which was moderately priced and BEYOND delicious. The service was a little slow, and we waited about an hour and a half for our meals because it was severely understaffed, but the wait was well worth the joy I experienced when I ate my food. My friends and I all ordered different dishes and everyone LOVED their food. I would HIGHLY recommend this place, but do not go on an empty stomach because there will be a little bit of a wait. Below is the information for the restaurant:


Ali Baba’s Treasure 
Restaurant & Bar – International Fine Cuisine – American Owned
Open Monday to Sunday from 6:00 pm to 3:00 am
Located in Gung-dong down the street from Santa Clause across from Shisha House 2F
T: 010-3221-9959



I then noraebanged and partied at Club J-Rock, which is located at the Jungangno stop on the subway. There is also a cheap but clean love motel around the corner from Club J-Rock that I stayed at. If you exit J-Rock and head left, you will see a lit up street with a lot of bars and restaurants about two blocks in front of you.  On that street, turn right and the motel is located above a noraebang on the 5th floor, you can’t miss it. Rooms run for 50,000 won/night and if you split a room with someone, the price is very affordable. (See picture below)


(The motel is located across from these heads – If you see them, you are in the right place)

~WEEKEND IN BUSAN~

I absolutely love any reason to get out and travel. I went to Busan (부산) for my friends 25th birthday. Since I came to Korea, I knew I had to go to Busan and visit the famous Haeundae Beach (해운대해수욕장), which is the most famous beach in South Korea, which attracts millions of people to its shore every year.

(At Haeundae Beach)

How to get to Haeundae Beach: (Subway in Busan)

Take Subway Line 2 to Haeundae station. Go upstairs at Exit 3 or Exit 5. Walk straight about 10 minutes and you will arrive at the beach.

If you want to stay in one of the many motels by the beach, it is best to book early during the summer season or you could be paying between 100,000 – 300,000 won per night (compared to off season when rooms begin at about 40,000 – 60,000 won/night).

(At Centum City in Busan)

While in Busan, I also went to Centum City (센텀시티), which has a 14-floor department store called Shinsegae (신세계), a huge food court with international foods, an ice-skating rink, restaurants, and a cinema, among many other things. According to the Guinness Book of World Records, Centum City is the largest shopping complex in the world.

I went ice-skating at the rink, which is located on the fourth floor. The price is 10,000 won for entry and skate rental, 1000 won for gloves and 500 won for a locker, so a grand total of 11,500 won for an afternoon of fun.

Directions to Centum City:

Happy Traveling!

2 Responses to “Daejeon & Busan”

  1. Mom said

    Of course.. It's all about the food :)Mom

  2. Very beautiful in Korea, have a great day!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

